Making my website look not-ugly on a wide screen

I was looking at my webpage this week-end. I updated many things in terms of content. But one interesting change is that the main content block now has a maximal width.

Five years ago, when I first took an CSS file off the internet and adapted to my usees, on a small laptop, having a website which filled the whole screen seemed appropriate. On today’s large screens, it can look ridiculous.

So I added the following little fix:

#content {
    max-width: 800px;
}

Here is what the projects page used to look like on a wide screen:

You can see that each paragraph almost fits on a single line.

Minor tweak to my webpage

I was looking at my webpage this week-end. I updated many things in terms of content. But one interesting change is that the main content block now has a maximal width.

Five years ago, when I first took an CSS file off the internet and adapted to my usees, on a small laptop, having a website which filled the whole screen seemed appropriate. On today’s large screens, it can look ridiculous.

So I added the following little fix:

#content {
    max-width: 800px;
}

Here is what the projects page used to look like on a wide screen:

Before

You can see that each paragraph almost fits on a single line. Here is what is looks like now:

After

This now seems like normal text. On the other hand, there is a lot of unused whitespace on the right.

Leave a Reply

